Visit RaceSimCentral.com
 

Go Back   RaceSimCentral Forums > Racing Simulations > Papyrus Simulations > Grand Prix Legends > GPL Mods & Addons > GPL Utilities
Register FAQ Rules Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Donate to RSC!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Display Modes
Old 26-08-2004, 23:02   #1
Guru
Retired Pixie
 
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: There and back again
Age: 29
GPL Resolutions Hacker (mk 2)

Ok, so lots of people were happy with the dll's I hacked together, but there are always people finding new resolutions, so here is a little program to hack your own rasterizer dlls

Read the readme for instructions...

edit: .zip reuploaded 02/Jun/2008. Hope it's the same one!
Attached Files
GPLRastHack.zip (1.09 MB, 36 views)
__________________
.:GPL Track Creating:.
.:GPLEA:.
.:The Racing Line:.:GPLAnim:.:trk23do:.:GTKMaker:.:GTKAlt:.

Last edited by Guru : 02-06-2008 at 08:21.
Guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 00:39   #2
GeNiE
Registered
 
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: GPL Turkey Office in VA
Age: 34
Thanks Phil.

__________________
Ihsan "GeNiE" Gin

JSJ GPLShift utility : $0..
Contact Cleaner from RadioShack : $7.99..
Second hand GPLShifter : $30..
Braking down to Tabac with skipping 5th and 3rd gear in a P115 : PRICELESS
GeNiE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 00:48   #3
Tim Stelten
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Age: 21
Thanks Master of GPL
__________________
Proud Member
Former COO
RaceSimCentral D.S.I.
Leading International Sim Racing Community
Tim Stelten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 01:28   #4
dangermouse
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SRMZ/GPLR London,UK
Age: 52
Wicked. Thanks



__________________
keith s-g
Visit the
My '65 setups compilation
..: New Alternative GPL Track Database :..

and 67 solution for Clermont
..: GPL Repository :..


..: Mirror Zone :..
dangermouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 02:11   #5
Arturo Pereira
Section Owner
 
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Argentina
Age: 54
Thank you Phil !!! Great job as usual !!! We all owe you one ... more
__________________
AP
Member of AtlasF1 Legends League https://https://ringrace.net/nascar200...index_en.phtml
GPL/NR2003/Mods/etc. RSC Forum here.
Member of the OFFRS https://freshfish.50webs.com/

Member of the Grand Prix Legends Preservation Society
Arturo Pereira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 02:45   #6
Bill Guillaume
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Houston,Texas US of A
Age: 48
Again the Guru of GPL brings another wonderful program to the table!

Top Job Phil!
__________________
Bill Guillaume
WFO-Chueco I Racing
Bill Guillaume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 14:07   #7
Motor
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States
Age: 61
Thank you Guru works like a champ. After 2 yr without GPL it looks so good on my plasma monitor, I think Ill go drive some more

Thanks agin
Motor
Motor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2004, 23:01   #8
Guru
Retired Pixie
 
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: There and back again
Age: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motor
Thank you Guru works like a champ. After 2 yr without GPL it looks so good on my plasma monitor, I think Ill go drive some more

Thanks agin
Motor
I'm impressed: 128 downloads, no complaints, you're saying it works, and.... I didn't test it ! Woohoo
__________________
.:GPL Track Creating:.
.:GPLEA:.
.:The Racing Line:.:GPLAnim:.:trk23do:.:GTKMaker:.:GTKAlt:.
Guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2004, 02:21   #9
Rodolfo
Registered
 
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Salzgitter, Germany
Age: 57
If tested or not ;-) I just d'loaded it an will give it a try, it can't be bad!

Thanks a lot

Rolf
__________________
RW
Rodolfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2004, 08:43   #10
Webfoot
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Birmingham, UK
Thanks for this. Should solve solve any issues with those peky widescreen formats that are appearing.
Webfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2004, 07:59   #11
chriso
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northwest Territories, Canada
Guru

I must live in a cave (or the Northwest Territories!), but I just discovered this thread, thanks to Shutaro.

Well, I guess that's "weird resolution problems solved"! This will help take GPL even farther into the future, given the rapid outbreak of LCD screens of various types. I'm contemplating a 30-inch Sharp LCD TV which has a native resolution of 1366x768. Seems I won't have to worry now.

Tons of thanks.

Cheers!

Chris
chriso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2004, 10:57   #12
*bill5494
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Carolina, USA
Guru - Thanks for doing this. I'm looking forward to trying it out when I get the opportunity.

I've been looking at big (50"-60") lcd projection tv's lately, but I have yet to find a sales person who knows diddly about hooking up a computer to one of these things. Standard answer: "Sure you can do it, absolutely. How? I don't know."

I've seen both DVI and VGA inputs on the various sets - will these work with a Radeon 9800's similar outputs?

Given the work you've done with widescreen resolutions, do you (or anyone else here) know how well this works? I've read through the long original thread on your .dll hacks, but this particular idea is just touched on there.

I don't want to hijack the thread, but i've had this on my mind and presto! here it was.

Thanks for any response.

Last edited by *bill5494 : 30-11-2004 at 11:24.
*bill5494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2004, 21:19   #13
chriso
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northwest Territories, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by *bill5494
I've been looking at big (50"-60") lcd projection tv's lately, but I have yet to find a sales person who knows diddly about hooking up a computer to one of these things. Standard answer: "Sure you can do it, absolutely. How? I don't know."
Bill

I know exactly what you're talking about. Sales folks seem to know nothing about hooking up a computer to their supposedly computer-attachable TVs, whether they be of the projector, plasma, or LCD variety. I've even talked to techno folks at various companies producing these things, and rarely have I ever talked with anyone who knew much about using one of these TVs as a computer monitor.

Even if they knew that their TV could be hooked up to a computer, none of them knew for sure what resolution would appear on the screen in monitor mode. They knew a lot about what resolution the TV function would display, but they seemed not to have even thought about someone actually hooking up a computer to it. It's as if the designers had made the TVs computer-attachable and put the connection plugs in the back, but nobody had bothered to actually try it out with a computer before it went out the door. Very strange.

I would suggest very strongly trying out one of these TVs to see what resolution it will actually produce with a computer (preferably yours!) attached before buying. One thing I've noticed is that the resolution one of these machines will give on TV function (advertised as "native resolution"?) won't necessarily be the same resolution it will give in PC function, so that's why I suggest trying a TV out with computer attached first before buying.

I'm still looking and trying. Haven't decided yet.

Cheers!

Chris
chriso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2004, 22:11   #14
Joachim Blum aka Crash
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Great work as always, Phil.

I was wondering if rastd3d7 could be entirely decompiled and rewritten for DX9 to support nowadays features. What do you think? What would it take to do this?
__________________
Regards
Crash
Life sucks - suck harder!
My GPL stuff: Ringtrainer, TrkCAMEdit, Push The Limits (on YouTube), Imagine (on YouTube)
Joachim Blum aka Crash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 03:00   #15
FloP
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: R�dermark
Age: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joachim Blum aka Crash
I was wondering if rastd3d7 could be entirely decompiled and rewritten for DX9 to support nowadays features. What do you think? What would it take to do this?
Don't you think that if it was easily possible, someone would have done it?
FloP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 08:11   #16
Joachim Blum aka Crash
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by FloP
Don't you think that if it was easily possible, someone would have done it?
You're right, that's what I think. My question was, what would it take to do it. I know that Phil's quite a hacker and want his opinion. If he says "it can be done", I'll try and give it a go myself. If he says "no chance", I'll forget about it. Simple as that.
__________________
Regards
Crash
Life sucks - suck harder!
My GPL stuff: Ringtrainer, TrkCAMEdit, Push The Limits (on YouTube), Imagine (on YouTube)
Joachim Blum aka Crash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 10:59   #17
chriso
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northwest Territories, Canada
Joachim

I think this is a very worthy question.

You say you "wonder if rastd3d7 could be entirely decompiled and rewritten for DX9 to support nowadays features." What sort of "nowadays features" do you have in mind? One feature I'd love to see is to get better than 1920x480 resolution on 3 screens with a Matrox Parhelia graphics card, because I've been told that it's the way GPL was written that is the limitation on better resolution with 3 screens, not necessarily the Parhelia itself. Is that the sort of thing you're talking about?

Cheers!

Chris

Last edited by chriso : 01-12-2004 at 11:02.
chriso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 11:06   #18
Guru
Retired Pixie
 
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: There and back again
Age: 29
Sure, it's possible. I wouldn't know where to begin, but it's not the biggest file, and there must be some way of figuring out the function calls that GPL makes to the .dll, and creating your own .dll to replicate that functionality, with a dx9 core...
__________________
.:GPL Track Creating:.
.:GPLEA:.
.:The Racing Line:.:GPLAnim:.:trk23do:.:GTKMaker:.:GTKAlt:.
Guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 11:23   #19
Biek
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Netherlands
Age: 36
Erhm ... and this does ... ??

As I have no idea what to do with all this I can only imagine I'm using mk1 of this tool now (because I race GPL) and judging by the enthausiastic reactions so far mk2 must be quite good. So thanks for the work you put in Guru
Biek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 11:26   #20
David Wright Lo67
Section Owner
 
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bradford (UK)
Even DX8 functionality would be good. I don't think many DX9 features could be added to GPL easily if at all but DX8's T&L should take the strain off the CPU.
David Wright Lo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 13:05   #21
Robert Gravel
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canada
Age: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriso
I must live in a cave (or the Northwest Territories)
Actually, you do

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriso
I'm contemplating a 30-inch Sharp LCD TV which has a native resolution of 1366x768.
Chris
Oh yeah...go ahead you tease, me with my 17 inch CRT

Later Chriso
__________________
Robert

:bg:
Robert Gravel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 13:27   #22
chriso
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northwest Territories, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Gravel
Oh yeah...go ahead you tease, me with my 17 inch CRT
Nya nya nya nya nyaaa!

Actually, it's a 32-inch...

Last edited by chriso : 02-12-2004 at 05:32.
chriso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 16:23   #23
Keeper
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Morgan Hill, Calif., USA
Age: 37
Yes, you can hook a computer up to a wide-screen TV's DVI or VGA inputs, and yes, I've done it. I suppose the people who work in a strictly home-entertainment store may not know how, but at the CompUSA where I work, I've hooked PCs up to 50-inch plasmas and LCD-projections.

How? Plug it in. Set the TV display to VGA (or DVI). That's that.

Now then, you want to make sure your video card is sending out a widescreen resolution. Most modern cards are capable of that, and it's pretty obvious which resolutions are widescreen (though only two are truly 16:9). If you're set at 4:3, you simply get the same stretched look that you'd get when viewing a standard 4:3 television signal. And yes, I've done that too -- I'd come into the store and someone would have set up a new computer to demo on the Pioneer plasma TV, but had stupidly left the thing at 1024 x 768 (a 4:3 resolution), so it looked all stretchy and lame. So I'd change it to 1280 x 720, which is 16:9.

Your other 16:9 resolution native to an HDTV would be 1920 x 1080.

Now, if you have a 16:10 monitor, there are more resolutions available to you, but your HDTV is going to be 16:9, so the only correct aspects will be at those two resolutions.
Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 21:03   #24
chriso
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northwest Territories, Canada
Keeper

It's good to hear that hooking up a PC to one of the new generation TVs shouldn't be any sweat. But if I'm going to spend that kind of money, I'd still like to try out some of them before buying to make sure everything works as intended. I just hope that people at the stores in question know how to operate the things like you do, so I can get a look at GPL on the screen of my dreams before I lay out a few large!

Cheers!

Chris
chriso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 05:05   #25
MiguelR
Registered
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Portugal
Thanks for this tool Guru. i've been using your hack resolutions dlls to play in a 3 monitors parhelia set for some months now.You made it possible
So after reading your posts about hack the dll's to play gpl in a dx8 or 9 support i just... ,it would be great to play GPL in 3072x768 resolution, im looking foward this 1
Thanks again

Bye

Miguel Rodrigues

(sorry for my english)
MiguelR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -11. The time now is 20:28.

Contact Us - RaceSimCentral - Archive - Top

Copyright � 2001-2007 RaceSimCentral D.S.I. (RSC), All rights reserved. All copyright RSC unless otherwise notified.
RSC Official Forum Skins by: Tim Stelten.